“Somebody worked out this morning!”

Thats what a man at the gym said to me when I was leaving!!

Since I didn’t exercise yesterday, I decided to do something different and work out in the morning!  I went to gym bright and early and did the 5:45 cycle class! 

  • 60 minute Power Cycle Class.

Boy was that hard!!   I wore a grey t-shirt (my mistake) and it was soaked by the end of class!  I haven’t had a workout this good in a long, long time!! 

As much as I love oatmeal for breakfast, I am in the mood for a little change… so, I made some pumpkin oatmeal pancakes!  I ate two before class and I’m actually eating the last one as I type this up!

1/2 cup pumpkin, oats, 1/4 cup light silk, stevia, baking powder, and cinnamon!

The pancakes were really great and I hope they keep me full as long as oatmeal does.  The three pancakes came to be 238 calories, 10 grams of protein, and 11 grams of fiber.  I love adding pumpkin to oats because it really has a lot of fiber in it!

Taking a cycle class this morning was fun and challenging… I can tell today is going to be great 🙂

11 Comments »

  1. A said

    Hey girl, do you have a recipe for the pancakes?

  2. VeggieGirl said

    Haha!!! That’s funny (and awesome!) what that man at the gym said – sounds like you’re working out is paying off! :0)

    Oooh, pumpkin-oatmeal pancakes??? YUM!!! What a delicious way to start a Friday!!

    TGIF!

  3. Romina said

    I didn’t even know that gyms were open so early!

    And I agree with A, do you have the recipe?? These pancake look deeelicious!

  4. Kath said

    HEY that’s my class!!!!!!!!!!! I was at the gym this morning too, but I skipped cycle for SOME reason – now I wish I’d gone!! How’d you like Jackie? I’ll meet you there a few Fridays from now – but I’m vacationing the next one.

  5. There is something about working out in the morning that makes a day so much more enjoyable. It is only the initial 5-10 minutes when you get up and wonder why in the world you are up so early to exercise! But once you get going it feels great! Glad you had a great workout and the pancakes look phenomenal.

    Kat

  6. veganseat said

    Pumpkin and Oat Pancakes
    as easy as the title!
    – 1/2 cup pumpkin
    -1/2 cup oats
    -1/4 cup ‘dairy’ drink
    – sweetener and cinnamon to taste

    mix all the ingredients in a bowl while your pan warms up. Spray the pan with PAM and then shape your pancakes. They will be thick, not runny. Then cook until brown on one side and flip. Cook until browned.

    Yum!

    Kath
    – I really liked Jackie!! She totally kicked my butt! We’ll definitely have to meet up one morning for a class although I have to warn you, I looked like death!

    Kat– I did wonder what I was doing and then I just buckled down and worked as hard as I could. It was neat to be up that early just to exercise 🙂

  7. Jill said

    Sweet! I was just going to ask the measurement of the oatmeal. I love having that “I worked my ass off” feeling!

  8. KristinS said

    Hey, I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks, but this is my first time to comment!! Your pancakes look amazing, and I’ll def be trying them soon! One question though, what kind of oats did you use, and you didn’t cook them first, right?
    Also I’m a senior in high school too!! I can’t wait for school to be OVER! How much longer do you have?

  9. veganseat said

    Hi KristinS, thanks for reading the blog!! The oats in these pancakes are not cooked and I use Quaker Quick-1 Minute oats.
    http://www.quakeroatmeal.com/qo_ourProducts/quakerOats/product.cfm?productid=1

    My last real day of school is May 19th and I graduate on the 31st!! I’m so excited 🙂 How close are you to graduating?

    -Ally

  10. hahaha, I love those work outs, when the t-shirt is all wet :-). It makes me feel so good!
    And the pancakes look yummy!

  11. It’s hard to know what we should eat in the morning after workouts but one thing is if we take protein or other supplements that we have about a 30 minute window to ingest because our bodies need supplements to rebuild itself after a hard workout. This will reflect our energy level throughout the day.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

