Tofu Veggie Burger and a Quick Trip

I’m making tonight’s post speedy so I can make it to Urgent Care before it closes tonight… My ankle has gotten worse and I can’t walk without being in pain 😦  I’m crossing my fingers that nothing is seriously wrong, I was just getting in a great workout groove!

Dinner tonight was a Tofu Veggie Burger with Summer Squash ‘fries’.

Wild Wood Tofu Veggie Burger.  This organic patty is made with tofu, kale, carrots, onions, and some spices!  It’s absolutely delicious and I am going to buy these from now on!  They are a tad bit on the pricey side so I will eat them in moderation.  Oh, something fun about this was that it was white on the inside and had a really chewy consistency… if you can’t tell, I’m an instant fan!

I had my Tofu Veggie Burger on a Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Bun with Avocado and Spinach.

On the side, I had baked squash dipped into ketchup!

Dinner was 306 calories, 18 grams of protein, and 11 grams of fiber!

I’ll update everyone tonight on how my trip went… I’m hoping i’ll bring you good news!!

EDIT:  Turns out I have Tendonitis.  I am not allowed to run for 2-3 weeks but I can swim, cycle, and do whatever doesn’t cause me pain.  I love running so this news is a little hard on me but I am thankful it isn’t too serious.  Thanks for all the sweet messages and I’ll see you guys for breakfast tomorrow morning!

16 Comments »

  1. Julz said

    OMG that sounds awful! Good luck Ally!! Let us know what the status is on your ankle! And (AS ALWAYS!) your dinner + all your meals look divine 🙂 Love you blog, so!

  2. Evey said

    Ooo, I really hope it is nothing serious. Hope you feel better! Let us know how it went.. the Tofu Burger, btw, looks absolutely delicious. Next time I go to the store, I’ll see if they carry it.

  3. andrea said

    oh no! i hope you feel better and have a SPEEDY recovery!! those burgers look absolutely fabulous! did u get them at WFs or TJs?
    p.s. swimming is excellent cardio!

  4. Rina said

    i want those burgers… recipe please:)

  5. veganseat said

    Rina- I WISH I made those!! Their actually from Wild Wood and Andrea, I got these at TJ’s!

    Thanks Julz and Evey, it’s only Tendonitis so I just can’t run or briskly walk for awhile!

  6. Romina said

    Yum! That tofu burger looks delicious.

    I wouldn’t mind at all if you added me to your blog roll, I’ll return the favor. =)

  7. veganseat said

    Romina- Added! I love your blog 🙂 I should also be in bed, it’s 12:30!

  8. Jill said

    Awwwwwwe, poor thing! I’ll let you rant to me about it whenever you want, I’ve had to take weeks off running before and it SUCKS.

  9. Pamela said

    Hi
    I’ve had tendonitis. Hope the people you saw gave you the streatching exercises – those really help. The most important thing is not to over do them or to do anything that will aggravate the tendon in the slightest. If you do it will come back with full force. I could manage that for a few days and then did something stupid and went straight back to square 1. Most frustrating.
    Good luck.

  10. katheats said

    Tendonitis sucks, but at least you haven’t something common and treatable. I can’t stress this enough: ICE ICE ICE ICE!!!

  11. Mariel said

    Hey there,

    I’m a new reader to your blog and I find your calorie posts very helpful. Before upping to 1500 calories, you were eating 1200? You mentioned before that you were trying to lose weight so I am wondering how fast you are losing weight? 2 pounds per week? Also, how many calories will you consume when you are at your goal weight?

    I’m asking these questions because I also want to lose weight (about 10 pounds), but I am much smaller…as in i’m SHORT (5 feet even!) and I have not been losing much on a 1200 calorie diet.

    I don’t mean in any way to be critical or rude so I’m sorry if these questions seem personal in any way.

    Great Blog btw!

    -mariel

  12. VeggieGirl said

    Delicious dinner, as always :0)

    Oh my goodness, Ally, I’m terribly sorry about your Tendonitis (since I can tell that you DO love running) – definitely rest your ankle so that it can properly heal; and hang in there!! I hope you’ll be able to return to running soon!

  13. Julz said

    That’s awful. But at least you don’t have it in your wrists/hands/elbows… One of my best girlfriends does and she’s a violinist. She goes to Case Western At the Cleveland Conservatory of Music and it’s HORRIBLE. But she also practices for 6-8 hours a day. You, on the other hand, are smarter than she is! lol

    Glad it’s nothing too serious though, but I hope it’s not causing you too much pain (both physically and emotionally… I know for so many ppl, running is such an emotional centerer (is that a word??)

    And I realized I never told you if you could add me to your blogroll when I read Romina’s comment! My bad girl! I’d LOVE it 🙂 And You’re already on mine!

    I hope you have a great tuesday! And happy Earth Day!

  14. Oh, I wish I could find whole wheat buns, but they’re nowhere to find over here! The veggie burger looks amazing, specially the first picture! so yummy!

  15. veganseat said

    Thanks guys!

    Julz- Running definitely helped me emotionally so cutting it out will be tough (I didn’t take the news too well!) But, I know rest is what it needs and since I love running, I am willing to step back for a short time and then resume later in the future! And I added your blog 🙂

    Alice One of these days I’m going to send you a care package… I can’t imagine life without good WW buns and cheap sweet potatos 😉

  16. Caroline said

    Sounds like you and I are in the same position. I was told to hold off running for awhile due to my sore ankle. I have been doing the elliptical and stationary bike at the gym instead of going for runs in the morning. Did they give you a brace or anything?
    Those tofu burgers look great

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

