Green Smoothie

For my workout today, I did a 60 minute cycle class.  The class was really challenging, I loved it!  Afterwards, I showered at the gym and then went out shopping for a bit.  I lost track of time so I had to whip up a smoothie for another ‘mini meal’

I’m a huge fan of green smoothies, they taste just as sweet as a fruit smoothie but pack that extra nutritional punch!  Today’s green smoothie came out very green!

Banana, strawberries, cantaloupe, spinach, plain Silk, and milled flax seeds.

This came in at 168 calories, 7 grams of protein, and 7 grams of fiber.  I am going to have to have a big dinner tonight since calories have been so weird today!  I’m not that hungry… maybe it was all the indulging this weekend?

 

5 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    I LOVE challenging, hard workouts – I just got back from my strength-training session, and loved it as well. Time to relax! :0)

    My whole family LOVES green smoothies – you should try it with kale next time! Just as delicious as the spinach variety!

    Appetites comes and go – today’s probably just a fluke. Smoothies are a great, easy way to take in extra calories, when you don’t have an appetite (which is why I consume them everyday).

  2. Jill said

    I’ve never been daring enough to try out a green smoothie… but I am really intrigued! I think I’d like them, I do love wheat grass.

  3. Caroline said

    This may be a silly question, but for green smoothies, is the spinach raw or cooked? I have some frozen chopped spinach that I need to get rid of, but I have a feeling that raw spinach is necessary for smoothie-makin’.

  4. veganseat said

    Jill- I’ve been meaning to try wheatgrass but I never actually purchase it! I’m going to buy some next time I see it!

    Caroline- I use raw spinach. I’m not sure how frozen chopped spinach would work, maybe it could replace the ice cubes? I think the flavor would be a little too strong though.

  5. I can see the flax seeds! And I love the color of your smoothie

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

