Eating Outside

As a senior at my school, I have the privilege of eating outside.  I usually just sit inside but it’s so nice out that my friends and I ate lunch on a picnic bench while enjoying the breeze.  It was nice to have a different surrounding and I’ll definitely be eating outside more often!  Lunch was pretty good but extremely simple.

Carrots and Strawberries.  I packed them in the same container to save room- I didn’t eat them together!  I ate all the carrots at 11:30 and had the strawberries at 1:15 with my lunch.  Despite my high fiber breakfast I was hungry!  I woke up starving so maybe that just carried on?

The main part of my lunch was this great salad!  Made up of spinach, cucumber slices, chickpeas, artichokes, and crispy tempeh!  I dipped my fork into 1 tbs of Annie’s Woodstock Dressing.  This is the first time I have had this dressing and I actually really like it.  It’s not as good as the Goddess Dressing but it’s a great change!

Lunch was 324 calories, 17 grams of protein, and 17 grams of fiber!

I am leaving at 4:10 so I can make it to my cycle class.  The snack and work out post will be pretty late today!  Have a great afternoon!

8 Comments »

  1. The salad looks very good, I like the idea of mixing artichokes with chickpeas!

  2. Bee said

    Just curious – how long have you been vegan? is it hard for you being in high school (where so many young people have notoriously bad eating habits)?

  3. VeggieGirl said

    I used to eat outside all the time in high school as well, as a senior – definitely a fun privilege!!

    Have fun at cycling!! Your lunch definitely looks like it will fuel you throughout the workout :0)

  4. hk said

    I too had some yummy tempeh for lunch, but mine was used as taco stuffing 🙂 your calories are still very low, did you decide to go back? Im just worried, it seems very low for all of your activity at a young age and training for the 10k. Enjoy the amazing weather and spinning, fun!!

  5. veganseat said

    Bee– I came back to the veg*n lifestyle this New Year. I was a vegetarian for a couple of years and actually went vegan when I was 16. However, I knew nothing about nutrition and went about veganism completely wrong. I’m glad I know what I’m doing this time around! It’s not hard being in high school… I think it’s so much easier since I am older. In fact, 24 more school days and I won’t be a ‘high schooler’ 🙂

    hk
    – Taco Tempeh? Sounds awesome! Nope, calories are still good! My snacks today are 300 calories so I have 900 calories before dinner. I should be able to hit my goal with dinner tonight. I knew I was having a big snack so I just made lunch a little bit smaller.

    Thanks,
    Ally

  6. Caroline said

    Yum! Love those artichoke hearts…and that cute little dip container.

  7. Bee said

    Good for you! Are you going to college in NC? Not trying to be a stalker – I am a NC native. Went to App State and UNC Charlotte (for grad school), and then worked at UNC Greensboro!

  8. veganseat said

    Bee- My family is actually moving to Georgia in June so I applied to schools in Georgia. I wanted to go to NC State but visited some schools in Georgia and just fell in love with one of the campuses. So, No NC college for me! It is neat that you went to App and UNCC, I know some people going there!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

