Seitan and Spaghetti

I finally decided to make some Seitan!  I don’t own any nutritional yeast so instead of making traditional seitan, I made the Seitan Cutlets from Veganomicon.  They were surprisingly easy to make and are absolutely delicious!  You will see the other two cutlets later on in the week!

For Dinner, I had Whole Wheat Spaghetti with an Assortment of Vegetables, and Seitan.

A close up shot of the Whole wheat spaghetti, spinach, roasted eggplant, artichokes, and sun dried tomatoes, all tossed in an Earthfare Marinara.

Seitan Cutlet.  It was so chewy and had a great flavor.  To me, it almost looks like real meat! 

On the side, I used some leftover 100% Whole Wheat Pizza Dough and baked a tiny ‘breadstick’.  To be honest, I was a little hesitant to take a picture of this because it looks so bad!  It turned out to be doughy on the top and crunchy on the bottom- perfecto!

536 calories, 35 grams of protein, and 15 grams of fiber!

The seitan cutlet had 20 grams of protein on it’s own!  I really enjoyed tonights dinner and will probably make it again in the future.  I hit my calorie goal without really trying so that’s good news!  Upping my work outs has definitely made eating more a lot easier!  Well, I’m off to study for Oceanography!

Have a great night!

10 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Nice job on making the seitan!! It made for a perfect accompaniment to your spaghetti dinner :0)

    Again, I’m inspired that you’re able to eat more, so easily – keep up the great work! :0)

    Have fun studying oceanography – what an interesting topic!

  2. Jill said

    Wow, I just buy seitan, but I need that cookbook, then I could make my own! In fact, this looks fabulous, perhaps I’ll have to steal the idea for the night!

  3. Caroline said

    Ooh tasty! I have always wanted to make seitan–I even have some wheat gluten sitting in my pantry at home. What all is involved in the seitan-making process? Is it time consuming?

  4. veganseat said

    Thank you VeggieGirl!! Oceanography is pretty neat, our test is actually on Ecology this time but our last test was on Ocean Mammals. It’s interesting so I don’t mind it! I do have to take the exam though because I got a C+ (you get exempt with a B- :()

    You guys should really check out the Veganomicon Seitan Cutlet recipe… it’s really worth it. And Jill, I say you buy the book, it has so many recipes and I have honestly never used a cookbook this much before!

    Caroline- It wasn’t time consuming at all. It took probably 10 minutes to mix the ingredients together, knead the ‘dough’, and form into cutlets. Then, you bake for 30 minutes and flip the cutlets to bake for another 20. Not a hard process at all! You can go and do household chores while they bake up and not worry about them at all. I’m not sure how long the ‘traditional’ boiling method takes though.

  5. rachel said

    Hey Ally, I love your blog. I was just wondering how tall you are?

  6. veganseat said

    Hey Rachel! I answered you on another post but those can be hard to find! I am 5″6 🙂

  7. Sally said

    Wow- your post looks amazing! I need to switch to whole wheat pasta. Someday. I love the way you mix up your entrees. I am glad your Seitan was so good. Are there any other cook books you have or would like to have?

  8. Wow, that seitan cutlet DOES look like meat. Good thing it isn’t, hehe. I’m very happy you’re doing so well with your new calories goal! You go girl!

  9. katheats said

    Looks good! I can’t wait to do something like that with my leftover pizza dough 🙂

  10. live2cook said

    I made sloppy joe with seitan. I will make these cutlets some time next week. Could you please let me know the recipe you followed?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

