Just Another Morning

It’s Monday morning and I actually had no troubles getting up… that’s a first!  I was up late doing my project and now all I have left is an easy two page paper!  Anyways, I started the week with two of my favorite things: Banana Oatmeal and Coffee!

More banana than usual (I like eating more!), almond milk, milled flax seeds, cinnamon, and toasted sliced almonds on top.

With coffee, this was 320 calories, 9 grams of protein, and 9 grams of fiber.

I don’t think I could ever sick of oatmeal, it’s just so warm and comforting.  I was wondering, does anyone stop eating oatmeal when the summer arrives?  I know cereal would be cool and refreshing but I am infatuated with oatmeal right now and can’t imagine giving it up!

Have a great morning!

8 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Ah yes, another day, another Monday (blah). At least you got the day started off right, with a comforting bowl of oatmeal – yum!!

    Nope, I eat oatmeal all year round – in my opinion, there’s no “set time” to enjoy oatmeal. Actually, one of my VERY FIRST blog posts EVER, was on this subject, haha!! Oh, nostalgia (excuse the terrible photography, please):

    http://veggiegirlvegan.blogspot.com/2007/06/oatmeal-no-longer-just-winter-time.html

    Best of luck with writing the rest of your paper! And happy Monday :0)

  2. Julz said

    I never eat oatmeal :-\ I have such trouble digesting both oatmeal and bananas! Sadly, intense whole grain products like Tempeh, Wheat Berry, Brown Rice (I can do Basmati though!), just get stuck in my tummy! Granola, though I L.O.V.E it is also on that list 😦 . Have you ever found these things to be difficult on your tums? OH yeah, and my memories of oatmeal consist of slimey guck…lol, but I’ve been told that “good” oatmeal is completely different! hmm oh well

    Have a wonderful Monday Ally! I hope it’s sunny in NC!

  3. hk said

    nope, I never get sick of it 🙂 Buut, I also love mixing a 5.3oz fage container with blueberries and a high fiber cereal for a cold breakfast…it’s delish in the summers. I throw in some strawberries, almonds, and lastly a sprinkling of wheat germ, it’s soooo good.

  4. Banana oatmeal sounds like a terrific way to start any day :o). Happy Monday!

  5. Kelly T. said

    i never have a problem waking up on monday, but talk to me tuesday and wednesday and i might take your head off.

  6. linds said

    I love oatmeal and definitely eat it year round!! My favourite way to eat it in the summer is to add yogurt in- I take 1/2 cup oats and let them sit in a bowl with 1/2 cup boiling water until the water is absorbed (about 20 minutes). Then I stir in some yogurt and dried fruit and let it sit in the fridge overnight. In the morning I add some nuts and have cold, creamy oats!! So good 🙂

  7. great breakfast to start the week! now it can only be a great week!

  8. veganseat said

    Kelly T- hahaha!

    VeggieGirl, hk, and linds– I love those ideas for ‘cold’ oatmeal! I’m glad that I won’t have to give it up this summer! I am actually writing down your ideas in my recipe notebook – I’ll credit you 😉

    Julz- I’m so sorry you can’t enjoy oatmeal and other yummy foods! I used to have trouble digesting but it was because of the huge amount of fiber I was eating. Now, my body is used to the fiber and I digest most foods perfectly (unless I go crazy and have a super spicy dinner)

    Alice and ChocolateCoveredVegan– Thanks! I hope the week is great 😛

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

