Lucky Rice

I lost track of time while I was doing a project and before I knew it, it was 7 o’clock!  My family usually eats late but this is really late for us!  Since I was caught up with my work, I didn’t snack.  To make up for it, I had a big dinner!

Brown Rice with Bell peppers, chickpeas, and Mrs. Dash Tomato-Basil Garlic.  I accidently made two servings of rice so I had to take out half of it!  I’m glad I caught that mistake because it would have made this meal massive.  The pictures include both servings,  I guess I was lucky!

Homemade Tofu ‘Sour Cream’ and Guacamole.  The sour cream was tofu, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt.  It didn’t taste like sour cream but it was tangy and went perfectly with the meal.

My mom made fresh green beans for the family so I snagged a few!

 The meal came out to be 601 calories, 18 grams of protein, and 15 grams of fiber.  Today was really balanced and I hit my new calorie goal!  I didn’t try to balance out today’s food and look what happened!

🙂

9 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Terrific!!! Glad to see you’re able to meet your new goals so easily – it can be hard trying to eat more, BELIEVE ME. So I’m inspired by your success at doing so :0)

  2. Bee said

    curious – do you fix all your food separately from your parents and family?

  3. veganseat said

    Thanks VeggieGirl, it’s great to hear that kind of support! I was a little hesitant about the larger meal but it was fantastic and I really enjoyed it!

    Bee- I do make my food separately from the family. However, my family enjoyed the cupcakes and my mom likes to eat with me. So, I cook her meals a few times a week. I love cooking so it’s not a problem, if anything it’s fun!

  4. rachel said

    hey ally, i love your blog! i was just wondering how tall you are. thanks 🙂

  5. Jamie said

    I just have to say how impressed I am that you are able to recognize when you have accomplished your goal and when it is time to shift to a new one. And asking your parents to hide your scale… I only wish that I had been so wise when I became very health-conscious at age 17. It definitely would have saved my family and me a ton of trouble! Your recipe ideas look awesome; I will definitely try some out! I need to up my healthy fat intake so thank you for the inspiration towards creating healthier, balanced meals!

  6. veganseat said

    Rachel- Thank you! I’m 5”6

    Jamie-Thank you so much! I am proud of my decisions as well, it makes life a lot easer when you treat yourself right. I used to eat a really low fat diet until I discovered that healthy fats are great for you. Now I really love olive oil, nuts, and avocados! (PS- Good luck on starting your blog, I think thats a fantastic idea!)

    Thanks for reading!
    -Ally

  7. how? where? how do you generate those charts? and how do you know the exact nutritional value of everything you eat?
    I think it is amazing that you reach the right values without even trying. And I feel very happy that you’re going to eat more calories, because 1200 sounds too low for me, and if you do it right, your body will get used very easily and you won’t notice a thing!

  8. veganseat said

    It’s from Sparkpeople.com, you plug in all your foods and it tells you calories, fat, carbs, fiber, and protein!

    I love that site!

  9. Thanks, I’ll check it out! If only to double check that what feels right IS indeed right 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

