A Beautiful Afternoon

Despite homework, I decided to really treat myself and enjoy this beautiful weather!  I walked 2 miles to the gym, did a 55 minute cycle class, and walked 2 more miles back.  The walking total was one hour and 10 minutes!  I enjoyed this change up!  So, for my exercise, I am going to run to the gym and lift weights/do abs one day and then the next day walk to the gym and cycle!  This will help me avoid injury and keep things exciting! 

Before walking home, I had a Larabar and more water.  I was tired but so excited about my new routine!  180 calories, 4 grams of protein, and 4 grams of fiber.

Oh, I forgot to mention that I walked to and from the gym with my mom!  She works at the YMCA so she got some things done while I cycled!  We also ate lunch together which was really nice.

Carrots

Cantaloupe with Blueberries

1/4 cup Silk Plain Soy Yogurt with 1/2 tbs of milled flax seeds.  As much as I loved the idea of making my own yogurt, this type is just so much thicker.

Veganomicon black bean burger on a Trader Joe’s whole wheat bun with spinach, 1/2 tbs nayonaise, mustard, and ketchup.

This delicious and filling lunch was 388 calories, 22 grams of protein, and 13 grams of fiber!

I just wanted to let everyone know that I am bumping up my calorie intake to help with my new exercise routine and 10k training.  Instead of eating a low 1200 calories, I am going to aim for at least  1400-1500 calories a day.  My body needs the fuel and I don’t mind supplying it 🙂

6 Comments »

  1. Celine said

    hooray for upping the calories a little!!

  2. hk said

    good decision, 1200 is weight-loss range, it doesn’t seem like you need that…plus, all of your meals look amazing!!

  3. VeggieGirl said

    LOVE the photograph of your water bottle with the Larabar – very artsy, hehe. Sounds like you’ve had a fun day of eats, relaxation, and running!

    Kudos for adding calories when you need it the most!! Hooray for taking care of yourself :0)

  4. katheats said

    I agree – 1,200 is too low. It’s hard to get all of your nutrients under 1,500. Have you thought about doing NET calories? With the amount of exercise you’re doing, it would probably work really well for you.

  5. rachel said

    Hi Ally, I love your blog. I was just wondering how tall you are? Thanks 🙂

  6. Sally said

    Hooray- for taking care of yourself first. The training sounds interesting- good luck with it. I wish I could run:) The pics are very pretty (as always)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

