Vegan Waldorf Salad with Roasted Veggies

It’s officially the weekend!  I am going to post lunch really fast and then crash at Borders for awhile, I love reading books for free there!  Afterwards, I’ll head on over to Earth Fare for Vegan Cheese (tonight is pizza night!!) and then workout.

I’ve never actually had a Waldorf Chicken salad and I am always seeing versions of it on recipe websites!  So, I decided to make my own veganized Waldorf Salad!

Trader Joe’s Chicken-less Strips, celery, raisins, apple, nayonaise, and an assortment of spices.  It was delicious and I can see myself making it a lot more this summer since it’s such a cool, refreshing dish!

On the side, I had roasted sweet potato, asparagus, broccoli, carrot, and eggplant all dipped into 1 tbs of Annie’s Goddess Dressing.  I love Goddess dressing right now, I can’t get enough of this tangy dressing!

Today’s lunch was 449 calories, 28 grams of protein, and 14 grams of fiber!

6 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Oh my goodness, I used to LOVE Waldorf Salads when I was little – your veganized version looks and sounds even better than the original! Love it! I also love the roasted vegetable side-dish – yum!

    Have fun at Earthfare! :0)

  2. Joyce said

    YUMM-O! I love your side very much, because you’ve used all my fav veggies! 🙂

  3. Jessie said

    Hey there, me again 😀

    I have a question for you, what was your reasoning behind going vegan? Was it more health, or conscience driven? I know that there are cases to be made for both sides but I am curious as to your personal reasoning. Also, since becoming vegan, have you ever “slipped up” and eaten an animal product?

  4. veganseat said

    Definitely conscience driven. The health benefits are just an added bonus! After reading about animal cruelty, it’s really hard to look at the foods you eat and justify why you’re eating it. Yes, since becoming vegan, I have ‘slipped up’ once. I wasn’t sure why but I really wanted macaroni. I had a bite of mac and cheese, swallowed it, and was consumed with guilt. It’s horrible to admit but I think it’s good to be honest to you guys. Not everyone is perfect, we all make little mistakes!

    Off to go post dinner!

  5. Jill said

    I must make that salad! I loooove waldorff salad and it is a beaut!

  6. Jane said

    I’ve never ordered a waldorf salad – the price always scared me away. What makes it so expensive? Did it cost you a lot to make or was it just really time consuming?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

