Spicy Polenta Casserole

Using Kath as an inspiration, I made a Polenta Casserole tonight!

The bottom layer of my casserole consisted of black beans, diced tomatoes, mild green chili peppers, bell peppers, and an assortment of SPICY spices!

Next, I topped it with soft polenta and tofu ricotta.  I don’t have any vegan cheese on hand since I tend to eat it too quickly so I made the ricotta using tofu, lemon, and garlic.  Not the traditional tofu ricotta but it was the flavor I was after so it worked out!

I baked it in the oven at 375* until the polenta got thick and the tofu browned a bit on the top.

I served my casserole with Trader Joe’s Brittany Blend and in the end, drizzled the bowl with 1/4 cup soy yogurt.

It wasn’t pretty, but boy was it good!  This super filling meal was 404 calories, 22 grams of protein, and 14 grams of fiber.

2 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    wow, that casserole dish looks so hearty!! yum!! and hey, as long as your meals/snacks taste good, who cares what they look like – although your dishes ALWAYS look great to me! :0)

  2. Jill said

    What is your tofu ricotta recipe – I have the one from Skinny Bitch but that’s it, and I LOVE ricotta!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

