Pumpkin Polenta

Happy Weekend Everyone!  I slept in the morning so instead of eating a big breakfast, I had 1/2 an ounce of cashews while I waited for lunch time.  Lunch is a dish i’ve been dying to try out and I wasn’t quite sure how it would turn out…  Pumpkin Polenta!

I whipped up some soft polenta on the stove top with sea salt and then at the end, stirred in 1/4 cup pumpkin and a blend of cinnamon and stevia.  It was rich and not sweet, I loved it!

On the side, I had oven roasted eggplant and zucchini.

As well as some tofu I warmed in the oven.

This awesome lunch was 364 calories, 17 grams of protein, and 11 grams of fiber!  I’m actually going to go blow dry my hair and look for a job!  Wish me luck!

4 Comments »

  1. Sarah said

    PUMPKIN POLENTA? I absolutely need to try that, it sounds amazing!

    I’m curious as to what kind of polenta you buy? I’ve been buying instant (eeks) and I’m guessing the one that takes longer to cook is probably much tastier (kind of like instant oatmeal vs. slow-cooked?)

    Your meal looks so yummy…:)

  2. katheats said

    Looks delicious!!

  3. Sounds yummy – did you use canned or fresh/roasted pumpkin? Good luck with the job hunting!

  4. veganseat said

    VeganCowGirl- I use canned pumpkin. I’ve never actually had fresh pumpkin, just the seeds.

    Sarah- I make my polenta out of cornmeal and water. You just whisk it at a 1:4 ratio, the smaller part being cornmeal. It always amazes me how flour can become polenta so quickly! It’s actually called Bota if you live in Zimbabwe (i just did a project on that :P)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

