A Recipe for Homemade Soy Yogurt

Making Soy Yogurt is so much easier than it sounds.  Here are the ingredients and tools you need to whip up your own yogurt!

  • 1/2 cup Soy Yogurt with live Cultures
  • 4 cups plain OR vanilla soy milk- warmed
  • A very clean Whisk- being clean is important when dealing with cultures!
  • An Oven
  • Jar or Container with a lid

It’s really important to make sure your base yogurt has cultures because what you are going to do is let those cultures multiply and form a larger batch of yogurt.  Once you have made your own homemade yogurt, you can keep making more with that last 1/2 cup.

Step One:  Set Oven to 100 Degrees while getting out your ingredients

Step 2: If base yogurt is runny, drain out the excess liquid by using a Cheese Cloth

Step 3:  If your soy milk is cold, pop it in the microwave to warm it just enough, you don’t want it too hot!  I warmed my 4 cups of soymilk in the microwave for about 2 minutes.

Step 4: Whisk together the warm soy milk and base yogurt until the yogurt has incorporated itself into the milk.  This shouldn’t take more than a minute of whisking. I would recommend washing your whisk in warm water and soap before hand just to get rid of bacteria.

Step 5:  Place a lid on your container (or jar) and place it in your preheated oven.  This is where it gets really simple, all you have to do is walk away now!  Let the yogurt sit in the oven for at least 8 hours.  Don’t turn off the oven, you want to keep it at 100 degrees for the whole night.  I usually put it in over night so when I wake up in the morning, I can transfer it.

Final Step: Transfer Yogurt into an old container! 

This yogurt is a little runny so if you prefer to eat thick yogurt, all you have to do is add some agar agar while whisking in step 4.  I hope this post made sense, if you have any questions on how I made mine please comment!

33 Comments »

  1. scvegan said

    Neat, I think I will try this.

  2. Caroline said

    That is SO cool! Any idea what the nutrition info would be on that?

  3. veganseat said

    Since I used Silk Yogurt as my Base and Plain Light Silk for my milk, my nutrition count is:

    (Per Cup)
    Calories- 79
    Fat- 2.2
    Carbs- 9.6
    Fiber- 1.1
    Protein- 6

  4. geektress said

    What a great thing to make! So would you leave your oven running on 100 Degrees overnight?

  5. VeggieGirl said

    what a fun recipe! nothing beats homemade! :0)

  6. madcapCupcake said

    This looks like something I would love to try – I really dislike the store bought soy yogurt I’ve tried so far (way too sweet, oily consistency, tastes a bit like plastic) – this may be the answer I was looking for! Thanks for posting the instructions 🙂
    I was also wondering about whether the oven gets left on for 8 hours – or if you just leave the yogurt in the warmed, but shut-off oven?

  7. veganseat said

    No problem guys! And yes, you do leave the oven on all 8 hours, i’ll edit the post so thats its more clear.

  8. Thank you for the recipe! but the idea of leaving it in the oven for 8 hours… It’s a lot faster if I buy it! (I know, I’m lazy and homemade always taste better…)

  9. Leslie said

    Can you use an electric yogurt maker (such as Salon brand) instead of in the over all night?

  10. veganseat said

    I’ve seen recipes that us an electric yogurt maker but I think the ingredients would be slightly different, I’m not quite sure. Sorry!

  11. scvegan said

    Bummed… I was all excited and purchased my base yogurt, soy milk and agar agar to try out this recipe. After I thoroughly wash and sterilize my containers and wisk, I go to preheat the oven and find out I can’t set the digital display below 170°F.

  12. Lynn said

    I also cannot set my oven below 170! You may want to check this first, otherwise, the recipe sounds great! Thank you for sharing!

  13. I had the same problem with my oven not going below 170 degrees F, so we got a yogurt maker. (Didn’t cost very much either.) The yogurt maker is wonderful. No more store-bought yogurt for us.

  14. Jess said

    An old heating pad, set on low, inside a styrofoam cooler is a perfect incubator…look at any regular milk yougurt recipes on the web and you’ll find lots of creative and inexpensive ideas.

  15. Christie said

    It might be a little clearer if you qualify the “old container” that you transfer the yogurt to. I wondered why you would want to transfer it to some “old” container, and then realized you mean a one quart yogurt container. What is the purpose of transferring it, anyway? Why not leave it in the jar or whatever you make it in?

  16. JBC said

    Does anyone know if it’s possible to make yogurt cheese from soy yogurt? Yogurt cheese is made by simply placing yogurt in very fine mesh sieve over a container and allowing the whey to drip through, leaving the curds behind. But I’ve only ever heard of whey in connection with dairy milk. Does the process work with soy yogurt too?

    a T d H v A a N n K c S e.

  17. april said

    Is the soy yogurt suppose to be liquid when it comes out of the oven?

  18. Johanna said

    Thank you for the excellent “how-to” instructions. This is the first place I have seen that suggests using the oven rather than tha stovetop or a double boiler set up. Very user friendly approach!!
    I wondered why you would make use of a microwave in an otherwise health-conscious blog. I had read that microwaving any food or drink destroys enzymes and even alters the foods chemistry (can you say reverses molecular polarity?) in a way that makes it far less nutritious or even bad for you.
    Kind author, please check this out, for your health and well-being.

    http://www.mercola.com/article/microwave/hazards.htm

    Jo

  19. Chelsea said

    JBC…I have been wondering the same thing about soy cheese! I am making some regular cheese right now out of some real yogurt that I just made, but once this is gone…I am going to try the soy method!!

  20. Taylor said

    JBC and Chelsea…soy milk does not contain whey. Whey is an animal protein so I don’t know if your soy cheese from soy yogurt method will work.

  21. Patsy said

    If I’m using a quart of soymilk, about how much agar agar should I add to thicken it? I made some yogurt a few days ago using a yogurt maker that tastes good, but I would love to have a thicker consistency.

  22. Michelle said

    I would like to add that in addition to not using the microwave, that you plan not to store the yogurt in the old (recycled) plastic. Plastics are not inert substances (glass is), and therefore the plastic leaches into the food. This is another reason why not to use the microwave, and food should never, ever be microwaved in plastic, styrofoam, etc. The residues from plastic are potent endocrine disruptors, binding to estrogen receptors, and being hidden, stored away in fat tissue. The body has no natural enzymes to remove these substances, so you have to wear them for years to come. I am going to use your soy yogurt idea, because I have an IgG allergy to milk. But it may be better to use a porcelain or glass container, or a yogurt maker, as long as that is not plastic as well.

  23. Well I just added 1 tsp agar agar powder to the mixture and 1/2 cup of soy yoghurt that has live cultures.I also added some sugar, as sugar makes the bacteria grow.What I did wrong the first two batches was that I did not put the lids on my Euorpean cusine yoghurt maker.now I did it,About eight hours from now, I will see if this receipe turns out right?

  24. Another thi g I did not do was heating up the soy milk.I m learning!

  25. centella.pixnet.net said

    I wanted to thank you for this fantastic read!!
    I certainly enjoyed every little bit of it. I have you book marked
    to check out new stuff you post…

  26. I blog often and I truly appreciate your information. Your article has truly
    peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

  27. Bettye said

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog
    posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope
    you write again soon!

  28. fantastic publish, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector do not notice this.
    You must proceed your writing. I’m confident, you have a huge readers’ base already!

  29. Key kaufen said

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It
    truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help
    others like you helped me.

  30. After I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added-
    checkbox and now every time a comment is added I recieve four emails
    with the exact same comment. There has to be a way you
    are able to remove me from that service? Thanks!

  31. Excellent blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any message boards that cover
    the same topics talked about here? I’d really
    like to be a part of online community where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable people
    that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Kudos!

  32. effects said

    Hello there, You have done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I’m confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  33. child said

    Awesome things here. I am very glad to see your article. Thanks
    so much and I’m taking a look ahead to touch you.
    Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

