Creamy Polenta with a Butternut Squash-Chickpea Stew

While in the airplane yesterday, I read the Vegetarian Times Magazine and saw their Butternut Squash Chickpea stew with Couscous and knew I had to make a version of it.  For my version, I made a fresh, soft polenta.  I seasoned my polenta with sea salt, mint, curry powder, pepper, and cinnamon.  The polenta itself was delicious enough to be a main course!  I really just messed around the spices so I am glad that worked out well!

The Butternut Squash-Chickpea stew consisted of soaked chickpeas, 5 oz creamy organic butternut squash, bell peppers, and carrots.  This stew was sweet AND savory.  When paired with the polenta, it was a steaming bowl of pure delight.  I made this in single serving form but I will most definitely make a bigger version in the future!

It was great making polenta and using dried chickpeas, I really don’t think i’ll ever go back to the store made polenta!  Dinner was a satisfying   305 calories, 10 grams of protein, and 11 grams of fiber.

My calories are quite low today so i’ll most likely have something before nine o’clock tonight!

Edit:  I ended up making a mini bowl of flax-pumpkin oatmeal with 1 tbs of almond butter

245 calories, 9 grams of protein, and 11 grams of fiber

Leave a Reply

