Pumpkin Baked Penne with Caramelized Onions and Italian Crumb Topping

Today for dinner I decided to modify a recipe out of Veganomicon.  I didn’t change too much but just enough to make a difference.

This is a tofu ricotta (home made!), pumpkin, caramelized onions, whole wheat penne, and ezekiel 4:9 bread with herbs crumb topping ‘casserole’.   I made a single serving and the flavors went together perfectly.  I am going to make this for my family one day since my mom tried it and said it was great! Served Trader Joe’s Britney Blend on the side.

Including some grapes I munched on, this delicious dish came in at 390 calories, 20 grams of protein, and 15 grams of fiber.

Time for Biggest Loser and my workout!

6 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    pumpkin baked penne… looks so rich and delicious! yum!

  2. Ooh wow, another vegan blog! Looks great :o).

  3. Natalie said

    sounds interesting
    i might try this recipe out this week 🙂

  4. veganseat said

    Thanks VeggieGirl and ChocolateCoveredVegan!!

    Natalie– I just followed the Veganomicon instructions with my own ingredients. So, if you decide to try it out just follow the book 🙂

  5. Kath said

    That looks fabulous!!! I’m making pumpkin penne tomorrow night (stove-top) but I’d definitely want to try that sometime (sans onions 🙂 )

  6. veganseat said

    Thank you Kath!

    It’s really great and the bites without onion were fantastic as well so I think that would turn out great. The spices are pretty strong and if ever decide you need directions or instructions, feel free to email me!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

