Tomato Couscous with Tempeh

Tonights dinner was a Veganomicon inspired Tomato Coucous.  I used whole wheat couscous, tomato juice, diced tomatoes, olive oil, and seasoning.  On top we have a tomato sauce simmered Tempeh.

On the side, Trader Joe’s Brittany Blend which consists of green beans, wax beans, and baby carrots.

All together, a total of 460 calories, 21 grams of protein, and 17 grams of fiber.

 My day was a little light on calories so I had ‘dessert’.  Two organic weetabix whole grain biscuits, 1 cup of warmed unsweetened almond milk, .5 cup blueberries, and some stevia.  Once the milk hit the biscuits, they puffed up and sort of resembled oats.  Yum!  201 calories, 5 grams of protein, and 7 grams of fiber. 

7 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Veganomicon recipes are always winners – looks delicious!!

    Weetabix biscuits are classic – I love breaking them into pieces and heating them up in the microwave. Just like porridge! :0)

  2. Gidget said

    I am a vegetarian also in my last year of HS, and I know perfectly well that vegans eat, but are you trying to lose weight? only saying this because you really don’t seem to eat very much (like 1200-1400 or so calories per day at most right?) when you really should be eating more to maintain your weight (like 1900 calories a day at least). I’m not really active at all outside of PE, of average height, average to low weight and your age, and I eat 1800-2100 calories of HEALTHY vegetarian (mostly vegan but I do eat honey & eggs/dairy if they’re in things so I am still vegetarian) food. you can still be healthy & vegan without depriving yourself of calories to grow. Just a little worried that people will see the name of your blog and it will fuel the “vegans SAY they eat but they are just using it as a vehicle for an ED/but they don’t get enough nutrition” myth.

    The thing is that when I was younger and quite a picky eater(13 or so before I was veg), i was diagnosed with EDNOS even though it was later discovered that I had a stomach parasite that was preventing me from putting on weight. SO i guess I’m a little overly suspicious of others because I was “caught” as having this. sorry if this comes off as harsh; i’m not eloquent at speaking over the interweb. Also like I said earlier if you’re trying to lose weight its different, although I personally will wait until I’m done growing to worry about dieting.

  3. Gidget said

    I’m sorry, I used the email of the last person who signed on to my computer to leave you that comment on accident. Just be aware that that e-mail is not me!

  4. veganseat said

    Thanks for the concern Gidget but I am quite aware of what I put in my body 🙂

    I use Sparkpeople to count calories and my daily calorie goals are 1200-1500 and I tend to stick to it.

    I am trying to lose weight. I answered this on another post but I don’t mind repeating :). I was overweight, but it’s been about a year and I am actually 19.7 lbs down (sooo close to that 20 pound mark!) I have 5.3 more pounds until I am at my ‘goal weight’ and then I will enter a phase where I will be more lenient with my calories. I am at a healthy weight although it is higher on the healthy range but the last 5 pounds are what i’m working against.

    I am very careful to not undereat, which is why I have snacks after dinner to ensure that I hit my calorie goals.

    Thanks for caring and have a GREAT Sunday (it’s beautiful out here!)
    -Ally

    edit: I created an FAQ page for this as well as future questions

  5. veganseat said

    Veggiegirl- Thanks, Veganomicon is awesome so far! I am really flattered that you’re reading my blog since I’ve been reading yours! Do you mind if I add your link to the side of my page?

    -Ally

  6. Gidget said

    Ally,
    Thank you for your super nice reply! You seem like you know what you’re doing; I just kind of had a passionate outburst there. Your food DOES look delicious and disproves people that think that both a) losing weight and b) being vegan cannot be both a)easy and b)delicious endeavors. Anyway, it does seem like you’re healthy and you know what’s enough and what’s not and you know that once you reach your goal weight you will be able to increase what you eat. That’s all I was trying to get across really! 🙂

  7. Hey, I uncovered your blog by means of Google all the while hunting for a comparable subject, your web site came in place, it looks fantastic. I’ve saved for you to favourites types|included in my bookmarks.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

