Tempeh Thursday

I wasn’t in the mood to slave over something in the kitchen tonight so I kept it simple.  Tonight for dinner we have 2 oz of Organic Three grain tempeh, mashed cauliflower with smart balance light buttery spread, and a mix of spinach and eggplant.  I also had 2 tbs of Heinz reduced sugar ketchup which isn’t shown in the picture.

The Tempeh was store bought and to prepare it, I sprayed a pan with olive oil Pam and lightly browned each side.  I ended up dipping it in the ketchup to add a little bit of flavor.  I love tempeh for it’s nutty taste and amazing nutritional facts!

Overall, the meal was 255 calories, 16 grams of protein, and 14 grams of fiber.  I have room left in my calories for dessert tonight, now I get to brainstorm!

 Dessert Update!

For dessert, I had a Caramel Nut Brownie Luna Bar!  It was SO good and took me about 20 minutes to finish.  No picture though! 

190 calories, 9 grams of protein, and 4 grams of fiber.

8 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    another great meal – I especially love mashed cauliflower and spinach! :0D

  2. Natalie said

    Hey ally i just discovered your blog and i love it so far!
    I’m a senior to and I have just started to become vegan. I was also wondering how long have you been a vegan ?

  3. veganseat said

    Thanks guys!

    Natalie- I was a vegetarian for 3 years and then switched to vegan for about half a year. Due to some health issues, I ate meat for a little bit. I made the switch back to the veg*n lifestyle on January 1st, 2008. I decided I had to be healthy this time and I think it’s working out so far 🙂

  4. freepersonaltrainer said

    haha thats your idea of not slaving over a stove? Mine is throwing a potato in the microwave and putting some toppings on afterwards. It looks delicious though!

  5. Natalie said

    thanks!

  6. Clara said

    Hi!! 🙂
    I found your blog through Kath’s and it is fantastic! You take such amazing photos 😀
    I’m also a senior in high school and a vegetarian (very close to being a vegan, I actually don’t like the taste of regular eggs, milk or cheese and greatly prefer soymilk/almond milk etc… but ah, I still love fat free yogurt, ice cream, sour cream and cream cheese, hehe. Actually whatever dairy product I do eat I actually like how it tastes better fat free, just because I don’t like the taste of *dairy*. Okay that was long!) So anyway I’m really happy to have found your blog cause you’re my age and you eat a lot like me =]

    Quick question – I see you count calories; do you aim for a certain number a day? I looked at your meals/snacks and it all seems to add up to a quite lowish number. Are you trying to lose weight?

    Well, keep up the great work and I’ll definitely be checking back!

  7. veganseat said

    Thanks Clara! I’m actually into photography and I love food so this is the perfect combo for me!

    I do count calories and yes, I am trying to lose weight. I am at a healthy weight right now but I am a little under 10 pounds from my goal weight. I have lost a little over 15 pounds through diet and exercise and am pushing for those last ten to drop off! I aim for 1250-1550 a day and today’s was low. It came to 1115! Don’t worry though, I’ll definitely hit my calorie goals this weekend 😛

    Thanks so much for reading,
    Ally

  8. Caroline said

    What brand of tempeh do you use?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

